Annual Conference Awards

Alice Lee Award

The Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW) of the Alabama – West Florida Conference annually presents the Alice Lee Award at Annual Conference. The coveted award is named for outstanding Monroeville attorney and church leader Alice Lee. Miss Lee was the first woman to chair the conference delegation to General Conference and is to date the only woman to do so. The award was established to help promote COSROW’s primary purpose of “challenging the church to a continuing commitment to the full and equal responsibility and participation of women in the total life and mission of the church, sharing fully in the power and in the policy making at all levels of the Church life.” Women who have been the recipients of the Alice Lee Award have not only demonstrated commitment to God and their church, but have also been bridge builders and barrier breakers for women through their leadership in the church and community.

Click here for a nomination form. 

Jane Walker Scholarship

A Scholarship Sponsored by the Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW) of the Alabama-West Florida Conference of the United Methodist Church Scholarship Information. The Jane Walker Scholarship is awarded each year by the Commission on the Status and Role of Women (COSROW) of the Alabama-West Florida Conference of the United Methodist Church. Each scholarship recipient is awarded $1,000. The recipient is announced at the COSROW breakfast at Annual Conference and will be recognized during the COSROW report during the Annual Conference session.

Eligibility for Scholarship

Applicant should be a woman who affirms, represents, and advocates for women’s leadership in the church.
Applicant must be accepted or enrolled in a United Methodist seminary approved by the University Senate or be pursuing an undergraduate degree in Christian Education at a University Senate approved United Methodist institution.
Completed application (including essay) and two letters of recommendation from a pastor and a professor must be received by May 10, 2012 in order to be eligible for consideration.
Applicant should be an outstanding candidate for ministry or seeking a United Methodist church-related career.
Applicant must be a resident of the Alabama-West Florida Conference and plan at the time of application to serve within the bounds of the conference.

Click here for a scholarship application. 

Harry Denman Awards

Applications are now being accepted for the The Harry Denman Evangelism Awards.

For more than thirty years, The Foundation for Evangelism has been privileged to work with each Annual Conference in celebrating the outstanding personal evangelism and commitment to Offer Them Christ of United Methodist Clergy, Laity and Youth by sponsoring the prestigious Harry Denman Evangelism Award. Since 1980, 2,346 individuals have been honored through this award. Think of the multiplying impact on the lives of others these folks have made through their outstanding efforts to help people experience God's transforming love through Jesus Christ!

The Division of Evangelism is now accepting nominations for The Harry Denman Evangelism Awards for clergy, lay, and youth. Nominations should be submitted to the respective District Office. The District Office will forward nominations on to Rev. Allen Newton by April 7.

Click here for a brochure with the nomination forms below the brochure for each category: clergy, lay, and youth. The intent is to select recipients who are, “exceptional people who possess a passion to help bring others into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.'

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact Frederick Outlaw, Director of Discipleship and Ethnic Ministries, or 334.356.8014.  

Local Church Heritage Award

An annual award, “The Local Church Heritage Award,” was established in 1988 to be given to the church most diligent in preserving its heritage during the year. The award to be given at the 2012 Annual Conference session is for the calendar year 2011. Click here for an application/nomination form. 


Copyright © 2010 Alabama - West Florida Conference. All rights reserved. site by BRT